Photo: Pixabay

Brexit Is Official Now! UK Formally Leaves EU

Keeping the transition period till December 31st 2020, Britain have officially left the European Union (EU) on January 31st, 2020. During the transition period of 11 months, UK and EU is said to ‘negotiate additional arrangements’. One of the first member to join the European Union in 1973, UK is also the first member to exit the European Union. After Brexit became official, the Union Jack flag (flag of Britain) was reported to have been removed from the European Union institutions in Brussels.

Transition Phase

The UK government’s verified website also said that the current rules on trade, travel, and business for the UK and EU is applicable during the transition period and that new rules will take effect on 1 January 2021.A referendum was held in June 2016 in UK, wherein 52% opted for Brexit while 48% was in favour of continuing being a part of EU.

The EU is a union of 28 European countries and forms a political and economic entity that allows free trade as well as freedom of movement of people to live and work anywhere within the European Union .

It is reported that the deal prepared by former Prime Minister Theresa May remained more or less the same except for the removal of ‘backstop’ between Northern Ireland and Republic of Ireland that would have ensured free trade between the two.

The present British Prime Minister Boris Johnson have said that Brexit will enable UK ‘s revival of “power of independent thought and action”.

In our diplomacy, in our fight against climate change, in our campaigns for human rights or female education or free trade we will rediscover muscles that we have not used for decades. The power of independent thought and action.” – British Prime Minister Boris Johnson

Following Brexit, Washington’s ambassador to London have said that US-UK relationship will “grow even stronger” and further said that US President have ‘long supported” UK’s exit from European Union.